Boone Foundation Rotating Header Image


Foundation Scholarships to Outstanding Seniors

Every year, the Boone High School Foundation presents scholarships totaling $5,500 to five outstanding seniors. The recipients of the 2016-2017 school year are pictured from left to right: Shane Roman, Col. Mike Holliday- Presenter Class of 1963 Make A Difference Scholarship, Madeline Trybus, Sarah McClane – Foundation President, Elizabeth Barahona, Mike Murray- Foundation Scholarship Chair, Alexis Sheppard, Amelia Cheatham.

scholarship picture


To apply for the Jameil McWhorter Scholarship, please download the application. The deadline to apply is April 29, 2017. For more information about the Jameil McWhorter Scholarship, please click here.

The History of our Foundation Scholarships

Your BHS Foundation Scholarship Committee was formed in 2006 to facilitate an ongoing and increasing need for money for further education for graduating BHS seniors. Prior to the committee’s formation, the Foundation Board had responded to requests from the administration by providing matching funds for two government-sponsored scholarships, known as Freedom Scholarships, at a level of $500 each. Then, in 2005, the board elected to fund an annual Hugh Hattabaugh Leadership Award, in honor of the former principal. This award was funded for $1,000 each year.

During the same period the Foundation was providing those scholarships out of its general funds, the BHS Class of 1963 decided that the best way they could thank BHS for the educational opportunities and life experiences given them was to raise money for an endowment to provide an annual Make a Difference scholarship to a senior who had demonstrated outstanding and consistent service to both Boone High and the greater Orlando community. The class formed a de facto committee to choose the first recipient in 2004. The committee members were so impressed by the quality of the applicants that they awarded three scholarships that year, a pattern that has been repeated over the years (who says our school is not turning out first-class citizens??).

Since, during the lifespan of the Class of ’63 committee it had used the auspices of the Foundation to safe-keep the money it raised and provide the award checks, several committee members joined the Foundation Board. The natural progression of that relationship led, in 2006, to the establishment of the first Scholarship Committee of the Boone High School Foundation. Current committee members are Mike Holladay, Bonnie Van Dyke and Mike Murray.

Going forward, the chief goal of this committee is to raise funds to establish an endowment that will award scholarships in perpetuity. This goal will be met through annual solicitations of as many BHS graduates and interested community members as we can reach and through special committee fund-raising projects. To date, approximately $17,000 resides in that endowment, after having awarded over $19,000 in scholarships in the past six years. We want to raise both the amount and number of scholarships awarded, so we intend to raise a minimum of $100,000. That level of endowment should enable a minimum annual awards level of $5,000 (in inflation-adjusted dollars) forever, because we are counting on interest earned by those funds to counter inflation. Anyone interested in helping attain the goals of the Scholarship Committee, through service, donation or both, is encouraged to contact  Mike Murray at 407.981.0248 or at

We can join together to make a difference, now and always!

close window

Service Times & Directions

Weekend Masses in English

Saturday Morning: 8:00 am

Saturday Vigil: 4:30 pm

Sunday: 7:30 am, 9:00 am, 10:45 am,
12:30 pm, 5:30 pm

Weekend Masses In Español

Saturday Vigil: 6:15pm

Sunday: 9:00am, 7:15pm

Weekday Morning Masses

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday: 8:30 am

6654 Main Street
Wonderland, AK 45202
(513) 555-7856